Thursday, April 22, 2021

Streaming on FACEBOOK & YouTube/Glendale Noon Concerts 5/5/21


Streaming on FACEBOOK & YouTube
Glendale Noon Concerts  5/5/21

Ken Aiso – violin

Valeria Morgovskaya - piano


During the Covid-19 "Safer at Home" period,
Glendale Noon Concerts will bring our programs
to you via streaming on Facebook and YouTube:
The MAY 5, 2021 program can be viewed at this link
beginning at 12:10 pm PT. (VIDEO will be available ongoing)


On Facebook:

On YouTube:

The program will be archived on the

Glendale City Church Youtube Channel:

Watch previous Glendale Noon Concerts streams:

Read about the previous programs:


Every FIRST & THIRD WEDNESDAY at 12:10 pm PT
On Wednesday MAY 5, 2021 at 12:10 pm PT:


Ken Aiso - violin

Valeria Morgovskaya - piano



Karen Tanaka 


1-East Beach

2-Hendry's Beach-Sunset

3-Butterfly Beach


Joseph Achron 

"Suite Bizarre" op.41


Quasi Valse


Ernest Chausson



(scroll down for artist bios & program notes) 


Please keep checking the site below for updates & upcoming concerts:

Streaming on Wednesday MAY 19, 2021 at 12:10-12:40 pm PT:

(This program was rescheduled from 2/17/21)

Brendan White - piano

Alexander Scriabin - Prelude Op. 37, No. 1


George Gershwin - Three Preludes


Brendan White - Prelude


Chad Latta - War Fantasy


Johann Sebastian Bach - Prelude and Fugue in C Major from WTC Book I  


Alexander Scriabin - Sonata No. 10, Op. 70




Or by mailing it to 610 E California Ave, Glendale, CA 91206 to the Friends of Music.

The Glendale Noon Concerts series is presented by Glendale City Church every first & third Wednesday at 12:10-12:40 pm.

Concert schedule:

Glendale City Church also presents the Second Saturday Concert Series,  

and sponsors the Caesura Youth Orchestra

Much appreciation to the Hennings-Fischer Foundation for their mission to support art & education and their generous grant to GNC.




Internationally acclaimed violinist/violist Ken Aiso has performed worldwide as soloist, chamber and orchestral musician. Ken graduated form the Royal Academy of Music in London studying with Erich Gruenberg. His other teachers include Eduard Schmieder and Chikashi Tanaka. Equally at home with modern and period instruments, Ken has appeared as principal violin with the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, the London Philharmonic, the Hallé and the Scottish Chamber Orchestras.

He has been invited to renowned music festivals in UK, France, Sweden, Switzerland, India, Georgia, Bolivia and Kazakhstan, and has taught at Montecito Summer Music Festival since 2008. Ken is a laureate of Long-Thibaud International Competition in Paris and International Music Competition of Japan, and was elected Associate of Royal Academy of Music in London. He received Shimousa Kan-ichi Music Award in his native Japan in 2018. Since moving to Los Angeles in 2015, Ken has been serving as faculty at Loyola Marymount and La Sierra Universities, and performs with Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra.


Valeria Morgovskaya, pianist, graduated from the Kiev State Conservatory. Since her immigration to the US in 1990, Ms Morgovskaya has been in high demand as accompanist for singers and all orchestral instrumentalists. She has been an official accompanist to festivals and courses such as Piatigorsky Cello Seminar and Beverley Hills Music Festival, and has performed throughout the US, Germany and Japan, as well as on numerous radio broadcast. She has provided accompaniment for many national and international competitions, and was an official accompanist at Schoenfeld International String Competition in Hong Kong (2013) and Harbin (2014). Ms. Morgovskaya is currently staff accompanist at Loyola Marymount University and UCLA, and is often engaged in that capacity at USC, Cal State Long Beach, Colburn School, Montecito International Music Festival, Academy of the West and Idyllwild School of Music and the Arts.


Ocean was inspired by the scenery and landscapes of the coastlines near Santa
Barbara, California. My intention was to transform images of waves reflecting light
and blue/orange colored sky into the sound texture. It consists of three pieces.
1. East Beach
2. Hendry's Beach - Sunset
3. Butterfly Beach
It was commissioned by the Autunnale Festival in Bergen, Norway.
Karen Tanaka


Suite bizarre 'Cycles des rythmes, Suite No 4' Op 41

In 1913 Joseph Achron took up a post at the Kharkov Conservatory in Ukraine, returning to Petrograd (as it was by this time called) in 1916, whilst also serving in the Russian Army music corps during World War I. This was a period of stylistic experimentation, as shown in his orchestral Epitaph, Op 38 (in memoriam Scriabin), and the progressively avant-garde Suite bizarre, Op 41 (subtitled ‘Cycles des rythmes’), composed in 1916. This title suits the Suite’s unusual irregular rhythm and phrasing, redolent of Bartók and Stravinsky, and its Scriabinesque chromatic harmony, extremes of register and complex instrumental interactions. Yet each movement also displays the discipline of a study, elaborating a single technical and structural idea with leonine violinistic demands.

The first movement, Étincelles, fizzes along with its chirpy dotted theme and quirky phrase lengths. It unfolds with arpeggio motifs and trills, rising higher like the sparks of the title, garbed in expressionistic chromaticism. Impressionistic modernism pervades Quasi valse, the lilting theme perhaps ironically recalling Strauss’s ‘Blue Danube’. Its transformation in different guises and registers is inflected with some giddy dissonances, emphasizing its yearning character. 


from notes by Malcolm Miller © 2012


No comments:

Post a Comment