Thursday, June 4, 2020

On FACEBOOK LIVE stream: Glendale Noon Concerts 6/17/20

On FACEBOOK LIVE stream: Glendale Noon Concerts 6/17/20
Works by  
Paul Jeanjean 
Béla Kovács
Shulamit Ran
Michael Kibbe

During the Covid-19 "Safer at Home" period,
Glendale Noon Concerts will bring our programs
to you via streaming on Facebook Live and Youtube:
The JUNE 3, 2020 program can be viewed at this link
beginning at 12:10 pm PDT:

The concert is also be available on Youtube:

Glendale City Church Youtube Channel:

On Wednesday JUNE 17, 2020 at 12:10 pm PDT:

Kathryn Nevin
Peter Nevin

(Scroll down for artist bios & program notes)


Paul Jeanjean (1874-1928)
18th Etude (for Two Clarinets) (1928)                          

Béla Kovács (b. 1937)
Hommage à M. de Falla (1994)
Shulamit Ran (b. 1949)                                                                                     

For an Actor: Monologue for Clarinet (1978)            

Michael Kibbe (b. 1945)
Serenade for Two Clarinets, Op. 131            
1. Prelude                                                                    
2. March
3. Blues
4. Tango
5. Tarantella
6. Elegy
7. Hora
Facebook JUNE 17 event page: 

Please keep checking this site for updates.
A list of upcoming concerts will be posted soon.
Streaming on Wednesday JULY 1, 2020 at 12:10-12:40 pm PDT:
Duo Recital:
Premiere of a work by L.A. composer KIRSTIN FIFE              

Or by mailing it to 610 E California Ave, Glendale, CA 91206 to the Friends of Music.

The Glendale Noon Concerts series is presented by Glendale City Church every first & third Wednesday at 12:10-12:40 pm.
Glendale City Church also presents the Second Saturday Concert Series,
and sponsors the Caesura Youth Orchestra
Much appreciation to the Hennings-Fischer Foundation for their mission to support art & education and their generous grant to GNC.


Kathryn Nevin earned her MM and DMA in Clarinet Performance from University of Southern California. Dr. Nevin has performed with many orchestras including San Diego Symphony, Pasadena Symphony, New West Symphony, Long Beach Symphony, Long Beach Opera, Santa Barbara Symphony, Opera Santa Barbara, Monterey Symphony and Fresno Philharmonic. She is a member of St. Matthew’s Chamber Orchestra, Desert Symphony, Redlands Symphony Orchestra and Long Beach Municipal Band. Dr. Nevin is an active soloist and chamber musician, having been a founding member of several award-winning ensembles. She is currently a member of Calico Winds. She has been a concerto soloist with the Redlands Symphony, Culver City Symphony, La Sierra Symphony, University of Redlands Wind Ensemble and Wheaton (Illinois) Municipal Band. Dr. Nevin has been featured on NPR’s “Performance Today.” She has taught and performed as part of the Montecito International Music Festival, and in addition, has appeared in chamber music concerts with faculty at the University of Redlands, the Taylor String Quartet, the Shanghai Quartet, as well as with Los Angeles Philharmonic principal strings. She is currently the Artist Teacher of Clarinet at the University of Redlands.

Peter Nevin is an active freelance performer throughout Southern California. He currently plays Principal Clarinet in the Fresno Philharmonic, the Desert Symphony in Palm Desert, and is a member of the Long Beach Municipal Band. He also performs frequently with many other orchestras, including the Pacific Symphony, Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra, California Philharmonic, San Diego Symphony, Santa Barbara Symphony, Santa Barbara Chamber Orchestra, San Bernardino Symphony, Riverside County Philharmonic, and the Redlands Symphony. He has performed chamber music as a member of the Imbroglio Quintet, Pacific Winds Quintet, and North Wind Quintet as well as with the Southwest Chamber music Society. Mr. Nevin received his M.M. and Advanced Studies Diploma in Clarinet Performance from the University of Southern California.

French clarinetist and composer, Paul Jeanjean, was the principal clarinet of the Monte Carlo Opera. He is noted for a number of significant solo works for clarinet, and a collection of etudes which showcase modern technical challenges and French musical style. Jeanjean was a student of another influential clarinetist and composer of the late 19th Century, Cyrille Rose. In his collection 18 études de Perfectionnement, Jeanjean completes the volume with a sweet ballad in 3-part form, written as a canon for two players.
Béla Kovács is a Hungarian clarinetist, former principal player of the Budapest Philharmonic, and Professor of Clarinet at the Franz Liszt Music Academy and Music Conservatory of Graz. His pedagogical activities inspired him to compose a set of nine concert etudes, Hommages, as a means by which his students could learn the various musical styles of significant composers from Bach to Khatschaturian. Since their publication in 1994, they have rightfully found their way to concert stages. Each is sincerely and expertly written to highlight not only the compositional style of their subject, but the beauty, color, facility and expressive features of the instrument.
Israeli-American composer Shulamit Ran has significantly contributed to the musical landscape of the late 20th and early 21st Centuries with numerous works for every genre. She was Professor of Composition at the University of Chicago, and was awarded a Pulitzer Prize for her Symphony in 1990, the second woman in history to be so honored. She writes:
For an Actor: Monologue for Clarinet owes its inspiration in large part to the intensely personal     
     ethos with which the clarinet is associated in my mind. To me, the instrument in its usage suggests
     an incredible gamut of gestures, dynamics and emotions. Accordingly, in Monologue, the player
     assumes the role of virtuoso actor who, by purely musical means, goes through a kind of wordless
In this work the listener will hear a number of interesting compositional techniques including fluctuating rhythmic pacing, the absence of meter, and atonal pitch collections. Ran also utilizes some extended contemporary playing techniques of pitch bending, flutter tonguing, microtones and multi-phonic sonorities, all heightening a wide range of expressive dramatic effect.
Michael Kibbe’s prolific output of works favors largely chamber music and solo genres. Most of his career as a successful player, arranger and composer has been centered in Southern California. His style is very eclectic, drawing on inspirations from music across cultures and centuries, is poignant yet thoroughly accessible, humorous and clever. It shines brightly in this Serenade for Two Clarinets, seven movements of varying ballads and dances, each one combining rhythmic ingenuity, beautiful lyricism and delightful counterpoint between the two parts.

1 comment: